Reviews / Testimonials

We respect guests’ privacy, and also aim to ensure that any individual requests are catered for – we welcome feedback from our past guests.

We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Thank you to our past guests for their visits, & reviews…

Becky, June 2022

Online review: click here for link:

“I loved the hospitality that we got (especially from Oscar the dog)! Totally recommend staying and staying again with The Oaks!”

Joseph & Ann, June 2022

5* online review:

5* camping review

Uploaded online: June 2022

5* for Location, value for money, Accommodation, Hosts, Cleanliness & Child Friendliness

Follow link here

Stephen: May 2022

5* online review:

David, May 2022

“5/5* online review:

“A Superb Week in Sunny Sussex

We very much enjoyed our stay in the beautiful setting in the Sussex countryside just outside of the fabulous market town of Horsham. It’s a very spacious apartment nicely decorated and comfortable. Emma the host was always on hand if we needed anything but we didn’t as it was just perfect. We thoroughly recommend this property and its beautiful grounds. We were sorry to leave but will definitely be back.”

Julia, May 2022

5* “Gorgeous accommodation set in fantastic grounds. Emma & Adrian are so hospitable, making sure we had everything, and more, that we needed for a fantastic get away! The sheep and their lambs were a real treat to watch!”

Andrew, April 2022

5*. “We had a very relaxing weekend and thoroughly enjoyed seeing the bluebells, birds, & lambs in the field. Thanks, Emma!”

Alan & Jane, March 2022

“Dear Emma, Thank you for making us so welcome. We have really enjoyed our stay. Seeing the baby lambs has been such a thrill – not forgetting the other animals – a slice of heaven just when we needed it – We will miss you!”

Christine, December 2021

“Rating: 5/5* Lovely property and gardens, extremely clean, well looked after, spacious and comfortable.”

David, November 2021

“5* Accommodation: Fantastic! Bright, cosy yet airy, roomy, impeccably clean and all of the facilities necessary for an extended stay. Location: Wonderful! Convenient yet secluded. Lovely grounds to the property available to guests. Hosts: Delightful! Excellent communication. Not at all intrusive but immediately responsive. COuld not fault them. Would certainly recommend and return.”

Michael, October 2021

“5/5* Our stay was excellent. The annexe was very comfortable, and Emma and Adrian were the perfect hosts.

We would recommend this to our friends and family and anyone wanting a break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. A very enjoyable stay. Hope to see you again soon Teresa and Michael”

Judith, September 2021

“The apartment was beautiful the surroundings fantastic and the host was very kind.We had everything we could possibly need for our stay, we’ll definitely be going back.”

David, August 2021

“This is a spacious apartment in delightfully extensive grounds. The living accommodation is quiet and tranquil. Parking is very convenient in the main drive. The surrounding countryside provides excellent and varied walking. The towns of Dorking and Horsham are interesting and provide excellent shopping if needed. The latter has a very good leisure centre and swimming pool. Emma was very helpful and always replied immediately to any queries.”

Boo, August 2021 (Camping)

Online review for camping:The Oaks is a wonderful site, secluded and private. The site is as advertised, basic but with the necessary amenities. It was very peaceful, and the sheep close by were a lovely addition to the whole experience. The hosts were cultivating wild flowers and grasses which meant there were areas of the site which were not cut. This added to the peace and tranquility of the setting… There were beautiful walks around the site, great local pubs and Horsham town centre was nearby for stocking up on provisions. I can’t fault the site or the hosts. Would highly recommend.

Adam, July 2021

“Simply the most exceptional host we have experienced. Communicative, friendly, available, and incredibly helpful”

Spike, July 2021

“Thank you so much for the wonderful stay – it has made this trip so much more enjoyable for us. The gardens are amazing and were wonderful to visit – Great location, massive, well kept gardens. spacious and lovely apartment. Emma is a great host too!”

Louise, July 2021

“This is a delightful place to stay. From the start, Emma was quick to respond to inquiries and super accommodating throughout. Her kindness and thoughtful touches as host were greatly appreciated. The spacious living / dinning area is well appointed, the kitchen has everything you need to cook at home, and the bed and linens are cozy and comfortable. The garden and surrounding grounds are fabulous for a stroll and a welcome break from working remotely. Thoroughly recommend 🙂

The Oaks is a peaceful respite from the hassle of daily life – and the perfect place to work remotely while in ‘quarantine’ from the US. Thank you for your kindness during my stay & for opening your home for others to share”

Mike & Frances, June 2021

“Thank you so much. We had a lovely, peaceful, much needed break. Your huge grounds and the annexe are just beautiful. Thank you x”

Lisca, June 2021

“A wonderful place to stay and a lovely host. Some nice touches and a beautiful garden… 5*”

Eric & Ann, May 2021

“Wish we could stay longer. Fallen in love with the peace, birdsong and stunning views. The accommodation is so homely, we loved it!”

Jackie, May 2021

Online review for camping – “We loved our stay here in our motorhome on this small ccc site. Emma was a wonderful host and it was perfect for getting away from everything as so so quiet and peaceful. We will be back we could stay longer. Fallen in love with the peace, birdsong and stunning views. The accommodation is so homely, we loved it!

Rob, April 2021

“A brilliant little place, self-contained on beautiful grounds, of which you have great views. Easy access to beauty spots in High Weald and the Surrey Hills but also extremely convenient for amenities in Horsham.. The property is spotless, comfortable, and has excellent facilities such as a proper kitchen and full bath. Emma is a natural host – easily contactable and friendly. Highly recommended spot for couples seeking a getaway. We had a lovely weekend here.”

Dave & Kinty, April 2021

“What a fabulous place! A wonderful long weekend that we will always remember. Thank you so much Emma for your kind generosity.”

Chiara & Alex, March 2021

“Thank you for such a wonderful stay in your beautiful home. We’ve adored our daily walks to visit the hens and lambs… We’re so grateful for all your generosity and patience throughout our stay & it would be our pleasure to recommend The Oaks to all our friends and family… Hope to see you again one day!”

Lauren and Edward, February 2021

“The Oaks provided the perfect place for us… waking up to the gorgeous view, sunsets, & the deer in the garden! Emma was the perfect host – thank you so much for everything!”

Nick, October 2020

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure to be welcomed my Emma in her outstanding property. We immediately felt at home! … very well equipped and Emma made sure we had everything we needed… spotless on our arrival. Everything was very clean and freshly scented thanks to Emma’s attention to detail. The property is very large so it allowed us to feel at ease during our two week of mandatory quarantine in the UK. Daily walks in nature and beautiful quietness right outside the front door. We truly felt we had our privacy and will be recommending this place to anyone who is seeking for an escape in Nature… Autumn offers a beautiful change of colours in nature. The property offers a very large parking space for anyone who is thinking of renting a car. The town is a very short drive away… Emma has been so kind to help us get sorted with food deliveries and other expected packages since our arrival. We are so pleased with our stay that we decided to extend … We highly recommend anyone for a stay at Emma’s place. It is a beautiful quiet escape only an hour away from London!

Illana & Rigel, September 2020

Wow! We have fallen in love with The Oaks and are definitely not ready to leave. Emma, thank you so much for your kindness and hospitality, you went above and beyond… and we are so grateful.”

Shaz – August 2020

“What a lovely place complemented by lovely people. During covid times, just when I needed help, Emma came forward like a beacon of light and helped me… I thank them for everything and wish them the very best”

Frances – February 2020

“We had a perfect (extended) stay at The Oaks. Emma is very warm and welcoming and a wonderful host. Loved the wildlife, the chickens, the sheep, even saw a woodpecker! The place is a great find. Thank you Emma.

John – February 2020

“Super gorgeous grounds. A faultless host, always happy to help make your stay as super comfortable as possible. Simply the gem of West Sussex.

Nick – January 2020

“Enjoyed this place so much that ended up staying for longer; it’s an oasis, with nature right on your doorstep… There have been birds abounding, from blue tits to woodpeckers, and it’s incredible to be able to sit and watch them as opposed to a laptop screen! A true way to reset. What makes The Oaks the most special is the exceptional hosting; Emma has been so prompt with everything and exceeded our expectations in taking care of the space for us. I confidently recommend staying here to anyone.

Fran – January 2020

“Very clean and well equipped with great hospitality. Thanks to lovely hosts for a warm welcome and quick response re booking. A wonderful stay with very special memories. Emma you are a super-duper host! Thanks again x 1 million!”

Jane – December 2019

“Beautifully appointed, super clean home in a convenient location to local pubs and amenities. Hosts Emma & Adrian are very welcoming and the chickens outside are so cute!

Nicola – November 2019

“”We were very lucky to have found this place; it matched us perfectly and Emma was a dream host. I echo other reviews in saying it’s a true gem.”

Kelly – November 2019

“Emma’s place is absolutely beautiful. It was immaturely clean, amazing grounds with chickens right outside. Emma is so great with communication, anything we’ve needed has been no trouble. The space itself has great facilities and a really comfy bed. The process was really smooth and we would absolutely recommend staying here!”


What a gem of a find!

Such a lovely, relaxing place to unwind in.

Hosts – brilliant, location – brilliant, views – brilliant!

We will definitely remember this one :-)”

Alex & Danu


Book your next stay today.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Location Horsham, West Sussex, UK Phone (+44)07930533916 E-mail theoakswestsussex@gmail.com Hours We will respond as soon as possible, and certainly within 24 hours.
%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close